Amazing Resources

An amazing list of resources at your fingertips!

Click on each topic to open up the resource list.

Nonfiction Articles (Upper Grades)

Informational Websites for Children

eBook Subscriptions

eBooks By Individual Purchase

Free Read Aloud Websites

Newbery Medal Award Books

A US award presented each year to the author of the best US children's book. It was established in 1922 and is presented by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. It is named after John Newbery (1713-67), an Englishman who published children's books.

*Mostly upper grade chapter books

2019: Merci Suárez Changes Gears, written by Meg Medina

2018: Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly

2017: The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill

2016: Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña

2015: The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

2014: Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo

2013: The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

2012: Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos

2011: Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool

2010: When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

2009: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, illus. by Dave McKean

2008: Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz

2007: The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron, illus. by Matt Phelan

2006: Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins

2005: Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata

2004: The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread by Kate DiCamillo

2003: Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi

2002: A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park

2001: A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck

2000: Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis

1999: Holes by Louis Sachar

1998: Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse

1997: The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg

1996: The Midwife's Apprentice by Karen Cushman

1995: Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech

1994: The Giver by Lois Lowry

1993: Missing May by Cynthia Rylant

1992: Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

1991: Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli

1990: Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

Caldecott Award Winners

An annual award in the U.S. for an outstanding juvenile book's illustrations.

  • 2019: Hello Lighthouse illustrated and written by Sophie Blackall

  • 2018: Wolf in the Snow by Matthew Cordell

  • 2017: Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat by Javaka Steptoe

  • 2016: Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear illustrated by Sophie Blackall, written by Lindsay Mattick

  • 2015: The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend by Dan Santat

  • 2014: Locomotive by Brian Floca

  • 2013: This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen

  • 2012: A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka

  • 2011: A Sick Day for Amos McGee, illustrated by Erin E. Stead, written by Philip C. Stead

  • 2010: The Lion & the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney

  • 2009: The House in the Night illustrated by Beth Krommes, written by Susan Marie Swanson

  • 2008: The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

  • 2007: Flotsam by David Wiesner

  • 2006: The Hello, Goodbye Window illustrated by Chris Raschka, written by Norton Juster

  • 2005: Kitten's First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes

  • 2004: The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein

  • 2003: My Friend Rabbit by Eric Rohmann

  • 2002: The Three Pigs by David Wiesner

  • 2001: So You Want to Be President? illustrated by David Small, written by Judith St. George

  • 2000: Joseph Had a Little Overcoat by Simms Taback

Reading Practice for Children

Live Streaming Animal Websites for Children

Virtual Field Trips (Upper Elementary)

Free Learning Websites for Children

Websites with Free 30 Day Trial / Paid Subscription

STEM Activities (Science Technology Engineering Mathematics)

More Additional Resources

  • Continuity of Education: Information in the event of a school closure: Resources provided to students and families by the Hawaii Department of Education

  • Child Internet Safety Resources - Helpful information and resources provided by the Hawaii Department of Education

  • Joining Google Meet Session: Instructions from Google on joining video meetings with team members anywhere in the world, at any time–all from a computer or mobile device.